Edward Graves

Tenor Edward Graves, ein Studiokünstler 2019-20 am Michigan Opera Theatre, berichtete über Don Ottavio in Don Giovanni und sang Rinuccio in einer doppelten Rechnung von Puccini Gianni Schicchi und Chings Buosos Geist. Er stand auch für die Rolle von Luis Rodrigo Griffith in Meister.  Zu den Höhepunkten der Saison 2018-19 gehörte sein Debüt an der Seattle Opera als Robbins in Porgy and Bess und eine Rückkehr zum Glimmerglass Festival zur Weltpremiere von Blue. In den Jahren 2017-18 war Edward Baumgartner Studiokünstler an der Florentiner Oper, wo er die Rollen des hl. Brioche spielte Die lustige Witwe, Hirte / Seemann in Venus und Adonis / Dido und Aeneasund 2. Priester / 1. Panzermann in Die Zauberflöte. Edward war der Tenorsolist in der Florentiner Oper Viva Opera! Operns größte Hits Konzert und Premiere der Rolle von Buzz / Child in der Kinderoper Eine beschäftigte Biene.

Edward erhielt 2017 einen Ermutigungspreis vom Auditions Wisconsin District des Metropolitan Opera National Council. Im selben Jahr war er junger Künstler beim Glimmerglass Festival, wo er die Rolle des Peter sang und die Rolle des Robbins in besetzte Porgy and Bess, spielt auch die Rolle von Fred in Oklahoma!  Er erhielt sein Performer-Diplom und seinen Master of Music in Voice Performance an der Jacobs School of Music der Indiana University, wo er bei Patricia Havranek studierte. Als Student von Aaron Sheehan erwarb er seinen Bachelor of Music in Voice Performance an der Towson University. Während seiner Zeit bei Towson spielte er die Rolle des Calandrino in Mozarts Die Gans von Kairo, Aschenputtels Vater in Into the Woods, Dudley in John Davies 'Kinderoper Der ungewöhnlichste Tag von Little Redund Gabriel von Eisenstein in Die Fledermaus. 2011 nahm er am Fairbanks Summer Arts Festival teil und spielte Szenen aus Die lustige WitweShowboatund Regina.

Gegen Ende seines Studiums wechselte Edward vom Bariton zum Tenor. Zu den früheren Auftritten des Indiana University Opera Theatre gehörte Brühlmann in Massenet's Werther, Ensemble in Verdi La Traviata, Der Doktor / das Ensemble bei Menotti Der letzte Wilde, Ensemble in Die Zauberflöte, Dr. Falke in Die Fledermaus, Prinz Yamadori in Madama Schmetterling, Grimoaldo in Rodelindaund Constable Locke / Ensemble in The Music Man.

Im Jahr 2020 debütierte Herr Graves mit der Baltimore Concert Opera. Sein Lincoln Center-Debüt mit Mostly Mozart in Blue wurde wegen Covid 19 abgesagt. 2021 Engagements beinhalten eine Rolle und ein Hausdebüt in einer gefilmten Version von Bastien und Bastienne mit Raylynmor Opera, der Weltpremiere der JFK Choral mit der Minot University Symphony, einem Konzertdebüt mit der LaPorte Symphony, unter der Leitung von Gary Wedow, und seinem Debüt in der Rolle des Tamino in einer neuen englischen Übersetzung von Die Zauberflöte mit InSeries Opera. Edward wird am renommierten Merola-Programm der San Francisco Opera teilnehmen, gefolgt von einer Rückkehr zum Michigan Opera Theatre für Blueund Beethovens Symphonie Nr. 9 mit dem Madison Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von John DeMain.

Mai 2021

 

EN FR DE IT ES

Edward Graves

Tenor Edward Graves, a 2019-20 Studio Artist at Michigan Opera Theatre, covered Don Ottavio in Don Giovanni and sang Rinuccio in a double bill of Puccini’s Gianni Schicchi and Ching’s Buoso’s Ghost. He also stood by for the role of Luis Rodrigo Griffith in Champion.  Highlights of the 2018-19 season included his Seattle Opera debut as Robbins in Porgy and Bess and a return to the Glimmerglass Festival for the world premiere of Blue. In 2017-18, Edward was a Baumgartner Studio Artist at Florentine Opera where he performed the roles of St. Brioche in The Merry Widow, Shepherd/ Sailor in Venus and Adonis/Dido and Aeneas, and 2nd Priest/1st Armored Man in The Magic Flute. Edward was the tenor soloist in Florentine Opera’s Viva Opera! Opera’s greatest hits concert and premiered the role of Buzz/Child in the children’s opera A Busy Bee.

Edward received an Encouragement Award from the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions Wisconsin District in 2017. That same year he was a Young Artist at The Glimmerglass Festival where he sang the role of Peter and covered the role of Robbins in Porgy and Bess, also performing the role of Fred in Oklahoma!  He received his Performer Diploma and Master of Music in Voice Performance from Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music where he studied with Patricia Havranek. He earned his Bachelor of Music in Voice Performance from Towson University as a student of Aaron Sheehan. While at Towson, he performed the roles of Calandrino in Mozart’s The Goose of Cairo, Cinderella’s Father in Into the Woods, Dudley in John Davies’ children’s opera Little Red’s Most Unusual Day, and Gabriel von Eisenstein in Die Fledermaus. In 2011 he participated in the Fairbanks Summer Arts Festival, performing scenes from The Merry WidowShowboat, and Regina.

Toward the end of his graduate studies, Edward transitioned from baritone to tenor. Previous Indiana University Opera Theater appearances include Brühlmann in Massenet’s Werther, ensemble in Verdi’s La Traviata, The Doctor/ensemble in Menotti’s The Last Savage, ensemble in The Magic Flute, Dr. Falke in Die Fledermaus, Prince Yamadori in Madama Butterfly, Grimoaldo in Rodelinda, and Constable Locke/ ensemble in The Music Man.

In 2020 Mr. Graves debuted with the Baltimore Concert Opera. His Lincoln Center debut with Mostly Mozart in Blue was canceled due to Covid 19. 2021 engagements include a role and house debut in a filmed version of Bastien and Bastienne with Raylynmor Opera, the world premiere of the JFK Chorale with the Minot University Symphony, a concert debut with the LaPorte Symphony, Gary Wedow conducting, and his debut in the role of Tamino in a new English translation of The Magic Flute with InSeries Opera. Edward will join the prestigious Merola program at San Francisco Opera, followed by a return to Michigan Opera Theatre for Blue, and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 with the Madison Symphony Orchestra, John DeMain conducting.

May 2021

 

EN FR DE IT ES