Jennifer Williams

Gelobt von Die San Francisco Chronik als "einfallsreicher" Regisseur von "besonderem Einfallsreichtum", Regisseur und Fulbright-Gelehrter Jennifer Williams wurde kürzlich von der. Für ihre experimentelle und innovative Arbeit ausgezeichnet Stiftung für zeitgenössische Kunst.

Ein Innovator in multimedial, immersiv und ortsspezifisch Williams hat in ganz New York, Berlin, Hongkong (in Vorbereitung), Washington, DC und international Performance-Installationen geschaffen. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Drama Coach für die Houston Grand Opera Studio, Sie hat kürzlich gefeierte Produktionen für inszeniert Michigan Opera Theatre and Austin Opera. Als leidenschaftliche Verfechterin der zeitgenössischen Oper hat sie Regie geführt BMP: Nächste Generation, eine doppelte Rechnung von Weltpremieren für Beth Morrison Projekte at Nationales Sägemehl;; die Weltpremiere von Rückwärts vom Winter für Sopran, elektrisches Cello und Elektronik (Zentrum für zeitgenössische Oper, New York); eine neue Produktion von The Crucible in Berlin Theater im Delphi;; gefeierte Neuproduktionen von Mohammed Fairouz Sumeidas Lied und Ricky Ian Gordon und Royce Vavrek 27 hat Pittsburgh Opera;; und "konsequent einfallsreich" und "außergewöhnlich schön" neue Produktionen von Ainadamar and Dunkle Schwestern und auch die Les contes d'Hoffmann, Ein Sommernachtstraum, and La Bohème hat Miami Music Festival. Zu den kommenden neuen Produktionen gehört die Regie der Weltpremiere von Carmen | Hong Kong, eine neue immersive Multimedia-Adaption von Bizets Opernset inmitten der Triadenbanden von Hongkong für Mehr als Musical (Hong Kong) im neuen West Kowloon Culture District Box Freespace;; eine neue Produktion von Il barbiere di Siviglia inszeniert in der Runde für Sacramento Opera;; eine neue Produktion von Libby Larsen Barnums Vogel als immersive Zirkusinstallation für Neue Camerata-Oper at (le) Poisson Rouge in New York; eine voll inszenierte, immersive Multimedia-Installation von Richard Strauss ' Vier letzte Lieder bei The Alchemical in New York; eine immersive Produktion von Rigoletto at The Box (New York); und Beitritt zur Fakultät von Aspen Music Festival als Artist-in-Residence.

Als gefragte Schauspiellehrerin und dramatische Trainerin hat sie als Drama Coach für das Houston Grand Opera Studio und sollte der Fakultät von beitreten Aspen Music Festival im Sommer 2020. Weitere aktuelle Arbeiten umfassen den Dienst an den Fakultäten von CCM Spoleto in Italien, Berliner Opernakademie, Miami Music Festival Opera Instituteund Seagle Music Colony und arbeiten mit den jungen Künstlerprogrammen der San Francisco Opera Center, Wolf Trap Opera Company, das Glimmerglass Festival, das Michigan Opera Theatre, die Cincinnati Opera, die Central City Opera und die Pittsburgh Opera.

Williams trainierte in der Standpunkte mit Anne Bogart bei der SITI Company in ihrer ersten Reihe von Meisterklassen in Viewpoints for Directors. Als Associate und Regieassistentin hat sie mit Regisseuren wie David Alden, Barrie Kosky, Jossi Wieler und Sergio Morabito, James Robinson, Sir Thomas Allen, Francesca Zambello, Paul Curran und Seán Curran zusammengearbeitet. Sie lernte als Regiehospitantin Bei der Deutsche Oper Berlin, Komische Oper Berlin, Staatsoper Stuttgart, and Oper frankfurt;; war Personalchef bei Houston Grand Opera und stellvertretender Direktor bei Washington National Opera;; und war Gast-Revival-Direktor bei Das Kennedy Center and Stadttheater von São Paulo.

Ihre Forschungen zur Opern- und Theatergeschichte wurden von veröffentlicht Musikkritik des XNUMX. Jahrhunderts (Cambridge University Press), Grove Music (Oxford University Press, in Vorbereitung), Feministische Germanistik, Text und Performance vierteljährlichund Zeitschrift für Religion und Theater. Sie hat auch den beliebten Podcast erstellt Störphasen: Gespräche über die Ideen, die die darstellenden Künste stören und verändern.

A Fulbright-Gelehrter, Williams hat einen Ph.D. in Theatertheorie und Kritik aus Cornell University und ein AB mit Auszeichnung in Interdisziplinären Studien in den Geisteswissenschaften von der University of Chicago. Sie war die Lehrlingsregisseurin bei der San Francisco Opera Merola Opera Programm und trainiert bei SITI Company in den Viewpoints mit Anne Bogart und in der Opernregie bei CCM.

Jennifer Williams lebt in Brooklyn und ist Mitglied der Stage Directors and Choreographers Society und der American Guild of Musical Artists.

Januar 2021

 

EN FR DE IT ES

Jennifer Williams

Acclaimed by The San Francisco Chronicle as an “imaginative” director of “particular ingenuity,” director and Fulbright Scholar Jennifer Williams was recently recognized for her experimental and innovative work by the Foundation for Contemporary Arts.

An innovator in multimedia, immersive and site-specific approaches to opera, Williams has created performance installations throughout New York, Berlin, Hong Kong (upcoming), Washington, DC, and internationally. In addition to serving as a Drama Coach for the Houston Grand Opera Studio, she recently directed acclaimed productions for Michigan Opera Theatre and Austin Opera. A passionate advocate of contemporary opera, she has directed BMP: Next Generation, a double-bill of world premieres for Beth Morrison Projects at National Sawdust; the world premiere of Backwards from Winter for soprano, electric cello and electronics (Center for Contemporary Opera, New York); a new production of The Crucible in Berlin’s Theater im Delphi; acclaimed new productions of Mohammed Fairouz’s Sumeida’s Song and Ricky Ian Gordon and Royce Vavrek’s 27 for Pittsburgh Opera; and “consistently imaginative” and “extraordinarily beautiful” new productions of Ainadamar and Dark Sisters as well as Les contes d’Hoffmann, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and La bohème for Miami Music Festival. Upcoming new productions include directing the world premiere of Carmen | Hong Kong, a new immersive multimedia adaptation of Bizet’s opera set amidst the Triad gangs of Hong Kong for More Than Musical (Hong Kong) at West Kowloon Culture District’s new Box Freespace; a new production of Il barbiere di Siviglia staged in the round for Sacramento Opera; a new production of Libby Larsen’s Barnum’s Bird as an immersive circus installation for New Camerata Opera at (le) poisson rouge in New York; a fully staged, immersive multimedia installation of Richard Strauss’ Vier letzte Lieder at The Alchemical in New York; an immersive production of Rigoletto at The Box (New York); and joining the faculty of Aspen Music Festival as an Artist-in-Residence.

A sought-after acting teacher and dramatic coach, she has served as a Drama Coach for the Houston Grand Opera Studio and was slated to join the faculty of Aspen Music Festival in the summer of 2020. Other recent work includes serving on the faculties of CCM Spoleto in Italy, Berlin Opera Academy, Miami Music Festival Opera Institute, and Seagle Music Colony and working with the young artist programs of the San Francisco Opera Center, Wolf Trap Opera Company, The Glimmerglass Festival, Michigan Opera Theatre, Cincinnati Opera, Central City Opera, and Pittsburgh Opera.

Williams trained in the Viewpoints with Anne Bogart at the SITI Company in her inaugural series of masterclasses in Viewpoints for Directors. As an associate and assistant director, she has worked with directors such as David Alden, Barrie Kosky, Jossi Wieler and Sergio Morabito, James Robinson, Sir Thomas Allen, Francesca Zambello, Paul Curran, and Seán Curran. She apprenticed as a Regiehospitantin at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Komische Oper Berlin, Staatsoper Stuttgart, and Oper Frankfurt; was a staff director at Houston Grand Opera and associate director at Washington National Opera; and has been a guest revival director at The Kennedy Center and Theatro Municipal de São Paulo.

Her research in opera and theater history has been published by Nineteenth-Century Music Review (Cambridge University Press), Grove Music (Oxford University Press, forthcoming), Feminist German Studies, Text and Performance Quarterly, and Journal of Religion and Theatre. She also created the popular podcast Disruptive Stages: conversations about the ideas that disrupt and transform the performing arts.

A Fulbright Scholar, Williams holds a Ph.D. in Theatre Theory and Criticism from Cornell University and an A.B. with honors in Interdisciplinary Studies in the Humanities from the University of Chicago. She was the Apprentice Stage Director at the San Francisco Opera Merola Opera Program and trained at SITI Company in the Viewpoints with Anne Bogart and in opera directing at CCM.

Jennifer Williams lives in Brooklyn and is a member of the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society and American Guild of Musical Artists.

January 2021

 

EN FR DE IT ES