Rena Harms

Gelobt von der San Francisco Chronicle Für eine „gewinnend flüssige“ Stimme sowie für ihre „dramatische Lebendigkeit und Stimmgewalt“ brachte die aus Santa Fe stammende Rena Harms kürzlich ihre Unterschriftenrolle als Cio-Cio-San ein Madama Schmetterling zu Produktionen an der English National Opera, der Arizona Opera und dem Opera Theatre of Saint Louis. Im Herbst 2019 trat Frau Harms als Artist-in-Residence bei Avaloch Farms ein und gipfelte in einer Konzerttournee im Jahr 2020. In der Saison 2018/19 kehrte Frau Harms für Wagner ins Grand Théâtre de Genève zurück Ring Zyklus, deckte die Titelrolle in Korngolds selten gespielter Oper ab Das Wunder der Heliane mit Bard SummerScape und arbeitete mit Peter DiMuros Public Displays of Motion Dance Company zusammen, um eine ortsspezifische Performance mit Now + There sowie einen Auftritt im Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum zu erhalten. Ihr Auftritt als Nell Gwynn in der Regionalpremiere von Carlisle Floyd's Prince of Players an der Florentiner Oper wurde live für die internationale Veröffentlichung aufgenommen.

Frau Harms '"atemberaubende Intensität" (NDR Kultur) war bei ihrem jüngsten französischen Debüt als Amelia in zu sehen Simon Boccanegra an der Opéra National de Bordeaux und bei ihrer Rückkehr an die Florentiner Oper für ein Rollendebüt als Beatrice in Jake Heggies Drei Dezember. Sie wiederholte auch ihre Interpretation von Donna Elvira in Mozarts Don Giovanni an der Opera Santa Barbara, eine Rolle, die sie in Milwaukee, Basel und San Francisco gespielt hat.

Frau Harms ist kürzlich dem Seattle beigetreten Sinfonie als Sopransolist für Beethovens Symphonie Nr. 9, das Seattle Kammer Musikk Festival und Opera America für ihren New Works Sampler und Seattle Opera für Don Giovanni. Sie ist als Helmwige in aufgetreten Die Walküre mit dem Grand Théâtre de Genève, Desdemona in Otello mit dem Oldenburgischen Staatstheater und als Titelrolle in Sigfried Matthus ' Judith mit dem Staatstheater Braunschweig und Kammeroper Schloss Rheinsberg. Weitere Credits sind das Baden-Baden Festspielhaus für Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni, Florentiner Oper als Micaëla in Carmen und Liù in Turandotund Fiordiligi in Così fan tutte für das Staatstheater Braunschweig. Sie sang die Titelrolle von Fibich Sárka, Marenka in Die verkaufte Brautund Contessa in Le Nozze di Figaro, alles in Neuproduktionen mit dem Staatstheater Braunschweig.

Frau Harms gab ihr Debüt an der English National Opera als Amelia in einer neuen Dmitri Tcherniakov-Produktion von Simon Boccanegra und trat dem Theater bei Basel für Contessa in Le Nozze di Figaro, Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni, die Hohepriesterin in Calixto Bieito Aidaund eine Blumenjungfrau in Parsifal. In den USA treten unter anderem Micaëla auf Carmen mit Opera Santa Barbara und Opera Südwesten sowie Fiordiligi in Così fan tutte, Helena in Ein Sommernachtstraumund Ericlea in Il ritorno d'Ulisse in Patria mit Wolf Falle Oper. Sie sang Mimì in La Bohème mit der Los Angeles Opera, wo sie Mitglied des renommierten Domingo-Thornton Young Artist Program des Unternehmens war. Mit derselben Gesellschaft sang sie Barena in Genua, Erste Magd in Der zerbrochene Krugund Zweite Magd in Der Zwerg in einer doppelten Rechnung unter der Leitung von James Conlon und auf DVD veröffentlicht, Sylvaine in Die lustige Witwesowie ihre Grammy-preisgekrönte Produktion von Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny. Frau Harms nahm am Merola Opera Program der San Francisco Opera teil und war stolzes Mitglied des Künstlerlehrlingsprogramms an der Santa Fe Opera.

Auf der Konzertbühne gab Frau Harms kürzlich ihr mexikanisches Debüt mit Gustavo Dudamel, der die Orquesta Sinfonica Simón Bolívar in einem Programm von Opernarien dirigierte, und sang Vier letzte Lieder mit dem Burbank Philharmonic und Santa Fe Community Orchestra. Sie trat zweimal den Los Angeles Philharmonic für eine Reihe von Konzerten für Kinder und der Musikakademie des West Orchestra für Barber's bei Knoxville: Sommer 1915.

Frau Harms war 2010 Grand Finalistin der Auditions des Metropolitan Opera National Council, Gewinnerin des Wettbewerbs der Hennings-Fischer-Stiftung, Gewinnerin des zweiten Preises beim Internationalen Gesangswettbewerb Marcello Viotti in Lausanne, Schweiz, und erhielt von Marilyn einen Ermutigungspreis Horne-Stiftung. Sie erwarb ihren Bachelor of Music an der Manhattan School of Music und besuchte die Musikakademie des Westens, wo sie ein Verdienststipendium erhielt.

 

EN FR DE IT ES

Rena Harms

Praised by the San Francisco Chronicle for a “winningly liquid” voice as well as for her “dramatic vividness and vocal flourish,” Santa Fe native Rena Harms recently brought her signature role of Cio-Cio-San in Madama Butterfly to productions at English National Opera, Arizona Opera, and Opera Theatre of Saint Louis. During the Fall of 2019, Ms. Harms joined Avaloch Farms as an artist-in-residence, culminating in a 2020 recital tour. In the 2018/19 season Ms. Harms returned to the Grand Théâtre de Genève for Wagner’s Ring cycle, covered the title role in Korngold’s rarely performed opera Das Wunder der Heliane with Bard SummerScape, and collaborated with Peter DiMuro’s Public Displays of Motion dance company for a site-specific performance with Now + There, as well as an appearance at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum. Her performance as Nell Gwynn in the regional premiere of Carlisle Floyd’s Prince of Players at Florentine Opera was recorded live for international release.

Ms. Harms’ “breathtaking intensity” (NDR Kultur) was on display in her recent French debut as Amelia in Simon Boccanegra at Opéra National de Bordeaux, and in her return to Florentine Opera for a role debut as Beatrice in Jake Heggie’s Three Decembers. She also reprised her interpretation of Donna Elvira in Mozart’s Don Giovanni at Opera Santa Barbara, a role she has performed in Milwaukee, Basel, and San Francisco.

Ms. Harms recently joined the Seattle Symphony as the soprano soloist for Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9, the Seattle Chamber Music Festival and Opera America for their New Works Sampler, and Seattle Opera for Don Giovanni. She has appeared as Helmwige in Die Walküre with the Grand Théâtre de Genève, Desdemona in Otello with the Oldenburgishes Staatstheater, and as the title role in Sigfried Matthus’ Judith with Staatstheater Braunschweig and Kammeroper Schloss Rheinsberg. Additional credits include the Baden-Baden Festspielhaus covering Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni, Florentine Opera as Micaëla in Carmen and Liù in Turandot, and Fiordiligi in Così fan tutte for Staatstheater Braunschweig. She sang the title role of Fibich’s Sárka, Marenka in The Bartered Bride, and Contessa in Le nozze di Figaro, all in new productions with Staatstheater Braunschweig.

Ms. Harms made her English National Opera debut as Amelia in a new Dmitri Tcherniakov production of Simon Boccanegra and joined Theater Basel for Contessa in Le nozze di Figaro, Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni, the High Priestess in Calixto Bieito’s Aida, and a Flower Maiden in Parsifal. In the U.S. performances include Micaëla in Carmen with Opera Santa Barbara and Opera Southwest as well as Fiordiligi in Così fan tutte, Helena in A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and Ericlea in Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria with Wolf Trap Opera. She sang Mimì in La bohème with Los Angeles Opera, where she was a member of the company’s prestigious Domingo-Thornton Young Artist Program. With that same company, she sang Barena in Jenufa, Erste Magd in Der zerbrochene Krugand Zweite Magd in Der Zwerg in a double bill conducted by James Conlon and released on DVD, Sylvaine in The Merry Widow, as well as their Grammy Award-winning production of The Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny. Ms. Harms was a participant in San Francisco Opera’s Merola Opera Program and was a proud member of the apprentice artist program at Santa Fe Opera.

On the concert stage, Ms. Harms recently made her Mexican debut with Gustavo Dudamel conducting the Orquesta Sinfonica Simón Bolívar in a program of opera arias, and sang Vier letzte Lieder with the Burbank Philharmonic and  Santa Fe Community Orchestra. She twice joined the Los Angeles Philharmonic for a series of concerts for children and the Music Academy of the West Orchestra for Barber’s Knoxville: Summer of 1915.

Ms. Harms was a 2010 Grand Finalist of the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions, the winner of the Hennings-Fischer Foundation Competition, second-prize winner at the Marcello Viotti International Vocal Competition in Lausanne, Switzerland, and received an encouragement award from the Marilyn Horne Foundation. She earned her Bachelor of Music from Manhattan School of Music and attended the Music Academy of the West, where she was awarded a merit fellowship.

 

EN FR DE IT ES