Spencer Britten

Dreifache Bedrohung Der kanadische Tenor Spencer Britten, ein aufstrebendes Talent, das für „die Haltung und das Selbstvertrauen eines erfahrenen Profis“ gelobt wurde (Bachtrack) und mit einer „vollen Stimme und einem Klingelton“ (La Scena Musicale) wird in diesem Sommer sein Haus- und Rollendebüt als Lindoro in geben L'Italiana in Algerien bei den Bregenzer Festspielen. Herr Britten ist derzeit Mitglied des renommierten International Opera Studio an der Staatsoper Under den Linden in Berlin. Er wird dort als Postillon in zu sehen sein La Fanciula del WestGastone in La Traviataund Borsa in Rigoletto. Anfang dieser Saison trat er als Solist in auf Messias / Komplex, in einer gefeierten Filmversion von Against the Grain Theatre. Zuvor war er Mitglied am L'Atelier Lyrique de l'Opéra de Montréal, nachdem er seinen Bachelor- und Master-Abschluss in Musik an der University of British Columbia gemacht und seit seinem sechsten Lebensjahr an der Caulfield School of Dance in Port ausgebildet hatte Moody, BC, Kanada in Ballett, Jazz, Tap, Zeitgenössisch, Partnering und Lifts.

Im Jahr 2020 wiederholte er seine Rolle als Léon in John Coriglianos Die Geister von Versailles an der Opéra Royal du Château de Versailles mit „süßer Klarheit“ (Ôlyrix) und fungiert gleichzeitig als Tanzkapitän der Produktion. Von seiner ersten Darstellung der Rolle beim Glimmerglass Festival im Juli 2019, Oper heute bemerkte: "Tenor Spencer Britten durchdrang seine Nachahmung von Léon mit einer hell getönten Lieferung und einem liebenswerten Hündchenverhalten." Anfang dieser Saison, ConcertoNet lobte Brittens "gelungene Wendung als Monsieur Triquet" in l'Opéra de Montréals Produktion von Eugen Onegin, was er tat, "während er ein paar magische Tricks ausführte, um die Teilnehmer des Balls sowie das Publikum zu begeistern."

Britten hat zwei Spielzeiten mit dem Glimmerglass Festival abgeschlossen, wo er seine Begabung für Musiktheater und Opernrepertoire in Produktionen von gezeigt hat Showboat (Beau / Händler / Tänzer), Der Barbier von Sevilla (Graf Almaviva Cover), Silent Night (Französischer Soldat # 2) und Ärger in Tahiti (Solo-Trio). Dort spielte er auch die Rolle des Gee-Tar in West Side Story, von Julio Monge auf die ursprüngliche Choreografie von Jerome Robbins gesetzt, und wurde als einer von mehreren Darstellern ausgewählt, um die Produktion an der Lyric Opera in Kansas City und der Atlanta Opera fortzusetzen. Er fungierte auch als Jet Swing für Diesel, Big Deal, Baby John und Snowboy.

Im Konzert trat Britten als Tenorsolist mit dem Choeur Metropolitain in Montréal bei Benjamin Britten auf Freut euch im Lamm und Dvořáks Messe in D-DurDort arbeitete er mit den Dirigenten François A. Ouimet, Pierre Tourville und Yannick Nézet-Séguin zusammen. Im Oktober 2019 wurde seine Interpretation der Gans in Carmina Burana mit Les Grands Ballets wurde von gelobt atuvu.ca als "brillant" und "unvergesslich".

Spencer erhielt die Jacqueline Desmarais-Stiftung für junge kanadische Opernsänger, das Karriereentwicklungsstipendium der Vancouver Opera Guild, das Karriereentwicklungsstipendium des Vancouver Opera Chorus, das Joseph- und Melitta Kandler-Stipendium für fortgeschrittene Musikstudien sowie das Barbara Eves-Motomochi Memorial Fund und wurde ausgewählt, um an den Endrunden des Internationalen Stimmenwettbewerbs Neue Stimmen in Gütersloh teilzunehmen.

Britten verdankt seine Liebe zu Tanz und Musik Lehrern wie Cori Caulfield, Sommer Thome, Isabelle Yuan und Van "The Man" Porter von der Caulfield School of Dance, Donna Otto und Carrie Tennant von der Coastal Sound Music Academy, Gesangslehrerin und Sopranistin Dr. Gina Oh und die UBC-Professoren J. Patrick Raftery, Roelof Oostwoud und die Regisseurin Nancy Hermiston.

 

 

 

EN FR DE IT ES

Spencer Britten

Triple threat Canadian tenor Spencer Britten, an emerging talent praised for having “the poise and confidence of a seasoned professional” (Bachtrack) and boasting a “full voice and ringing tone” (La Scena Musicale) will make his house and role debut this summer as Lindoro in L’Italiana in Algeri at the Bregenzer Festspiele. Mr. Britten is presently a member of the prestigious International Opera Studio at Staatsoper Under den Linden in Berlin. He will be seen there as Postillon in La Fanciula del West, Gastone in La Traviata, and Borsa in Rigoletto. Earlier this season he appeared as soloist in Messiah/Complex, in an acclaimed filmed version produced by Against the Grain Theatre. Prior to that he was a member at L’Atelier Lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal, after having completed his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in music from the University of British Columbia and training since the age of six at the Caulfield School of Dance in Port Moody, BC, Canada in ballet, jazz, tap, contemporary, partnering and lifts.

In 2020, he reprised his role as Léon in John Corigliano’s The Ghosts of Versailles at the Opéra Royal du Château de Versailles with “sweet clarity,” (Ôlyrix), while also acting as the production’s dance captain. Of his first portrayal of the role with the Glimmerglass Festival in July 2019, Opera Today noted, “Tenor Spencer Britten imbued his impersonation of Léon with bright toned delivery and a loveable puppy dog deportment.” Earlier this season, ConcertoNet lauded Britten’s “felicitous turn as Monsieur Triquet” in l’Opéra de Montréal’s production of Eugene Onegin, which he did “while pulling off a few magical tricks to delight the ball’s attendees as well as the audience.”

Britten has completed two seasons with the Glimmerglass Festival, where he has shown his aptitude for both musical theatre and operatic repertoire in productions of Showboat (Beau/Dealer/Dancer), Il Barbiere di Siviglia (Count Almaviva Cover), Silent Night (French Soldier #2) and Trouble in Tahiti (solo trio).  While there, he also played the role of Gee-Tar in West Side Story, set by Julio Monge to the original Jerome Robbins choreography, and was selected as one of several cast members to continue with the production to Lyric Opera of Kansas City and The Atlanta Opera. He also acted as a Jet swing covering Diesel, Big Deal, Baby John, & Snowboy.

In concert, Britten has performed as tenor soloist with the Choeur Metropolitain in Montréal in Benjamin Britten’s Rejoice in the Lamb and Dvořák’s Mass in D Major, where he worked with conductors François A. Ouimet, Pierre Tourville, and Yannick Nézet-Séguin. In October 2019, his interpretation of the goose in Carmina Burana with Les Grands Ballets was lauded by atuvu.ca as “brilliant” and “memorable.”

Spencer has been a recipient of the Jacqueline Desmarais Foundation for Young Canadian Opera Singers, the Vancouver Opera Guild Career Development Grant, the Vancouver Opera Chorus Endowment Career Development Grant, the Joseph and Melitta Kandler Scholarship for Advanced Music Study, and the Barbara Eves-Motomochi Memorial Fund, and was chosen to compete in the final rounds of the Neue Stimmen International Voice Competition in Gütersloh, Germany.

Britten credits his love of dance and music to teachers including Cori Caulfield, Sommer Thome, Isabelle Yuan and Van “The Man” Porter of the Caulfield School of Dance, Donna Otto and Carrie Tennant of the Coastal Sound Music Academy, voice teacher and soprano Dr. Gina Oh, and UBC professors J.Patrick Raftery, Roelof Oostwoud, and director Nancy Hermiston.

 

 

 

EN FR DE IT ES